• June 17, 2024
This is featured image for the article How to delete a tiktok account

Deleting your TikTok account is easy, but it’s important to know the exact steps to take in order to do so properly. In this guide, we will provide step-by-step instructions on how to delete a TikTok account. As well as you will also learn why you might want to delete your TikTok if you’re considering it.

In this article, I will discuss how to delete a TikTok account in easy steps.

How To Delete TikTok Account Permanently

Step 1. Log in to Your TikTok Account.

The first step to delete TikTok account is to log in to it. Enter your username and password and click “Log in”. You will be taken to your account profile where you can start the process of permanently deleting your account.

Step 2. Open the Settings Menu

Once you’re logged in, open the Settings menu

  • Tap the ‘’Profile’’ icon located at the lower right corner
  • Tap ‘’Three Lines’’ present at the upper right corner
  • Click the ‘’Settings and privacy’’ tab to open the settings menu
This image shows how to open tiktok settings and privacy to delete the tiktok account

This will open a page with several tabs for managing your account, including one for deleting it.

Step 3. Choose ‘Account’ from the Settings Menu

When you’ve logged into your account and opened the Settings menu, click on “Account”. This will open a page with several tabs for managing your account.

This image shows to tap on account tab to delete a tiktok account
Tap ”Account”

This will include

i) Account Information

ii) Password

iii) Switch to a personal account

iv) Download your data

v) Deactivate or delete the account

The Deactivate or delete account tab is the last tab on the page. By clicking it, a confirmation screen will open with more details about deleting your account permanently.

Step 4. Delete TikTok Account Permanently

To delete TikTok account permanently, enter your password in the verification field. Click the Delete Account Permanently button.

This image shows to tap on deactivate or delete account tab to delete a tiktok account
Tap ”Deactivate or delete account”

Once you do this, all of your data, including your media and profile info, will be deleted from TikTok.

After deleting your account, you won’t be able to access it again. Make sure you read the information on the confirmation screen before proceeding with the deletion process. You can deactivate your TikTok account if you wish to temporarily leave the app.

Once your TikTok account has been deactivated, no one will be able to see any of your content. At any time, you can reactivate your account.

How To Add Balance To TikTok Ads Manager

Alternatives Before Deleting TikTok Account Permanently

Before deleting your account, you should know that there are also other alternatives available. For instance, you can change your profile name or picture instead of deleting your account. You can switch to a private account.

Additionally, you can take advantage of the “Download” button on TikTok to save copies of all your videos.

Make Your TikTok Account Private

  • Open theTikTok App on your phone
  • Tap ‘’Profile’’ to open your profile page
  • Tap ‘’Three Lines’’ to open the settings page
  • Tap ‘’Settings and privacy’’
  • Click ‘’Privacy’’ in the account section of Settings and privacy
  • Tap “Private Account’’ to make the account private
This image shows to tap on private account tab to delete a tiktok account
Tap ”Private account”

Only users you approve can follow you and watch your videos with a private account. Followers you already have won’t be affected.

Download Your Data Before Deleting TikTok Account

  • Open TikTok App on your phone
  • Tap ‘’Profile’’ to open your profile page
  • Tap ‘’Three Lines’’ to open the settings page
  • Tap ’Settings and privacy’’
  • Click ‘’Account’’ tab
  • Click the ‘Download your data’’ tab to download
This image shows to tap on download your data tab for downloading the data
Tap ”Download your data”

It may take several days for your request to download data. Upon completion, your file will be available for 4 days for download.

Your data may include:

i) Your profile

Your profile data includes your username, profile photo, bio, and contact info.

ii) Your activity

It may include your video history, comment history, chat history, TikTok live gifts purchase history, and shopping activity.

iii) Your app settings

The app settings data may include privacy settings, notification settings, and language settings.

  • Select the file format in which you want to download your data. The file format will be

i) TXT Format

ii) JSON Format

  • Tap ‘’Request data’’ tab
This image shows to tap on request data tab to download the data from tiktok
Tap ”Request data”

FAQs

What happens when you uninstall TikTok on Android?

Uninstalling the app on an Android device will not delete your account, but it will deactivate your account. When you reinstall the app, you’ll be able to log in as usual and access all of your content.

What happens when you uninstall TikTok on your iPhone?

Uninstalling the app on an iOS device will not delete your account. However, all of your content associated with the account will be removed. You’ll need to log in again and create new content when you reinstall the app.

Can you reactivate your account if it was deleted?

If your TikTok account was permanently deleted, you won’t be able to recover any content that was associated with it. You also can’t use the same username and email address when creating a new account.

Can you delete a TikTok account?

You can delete your TikTok account permanently by going to your profile and selecting the “Privacy and Settings” option. From there, select “Account” and then select “Delete Account.” This will permanently delete all of your content from the app.

Muhammad Irshad
Author and Senior Editor

Muhammad Irshad is the founder of activemarketingfunnel.com, with 8+ years of experience in Social Media Management and Marketing. He is a professional content writer, focusing on technology and Social Media Marketing. He researched, tested, and wrote thousands of articles about everything from messaging apps to social media platforms. He graduated with a B.S. from the University of North Florida in 2018. When he’s not working, you will find him interested in sports or sci-fi movies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *